ONE FOR THE ROAD reviews

onefortheroadsmallSince we are only eleven days away (6-15-19) from the release of my Deadite Press novella, ONE FOR THE ROAD, I’d like to share some of the reviews that have been rolling in over the past few weeks.  And to say I’m shocked is an understatement.  I’m absolutely blown away by the response so far.  Thank you so much to all of those who took their their time to pre-read my book.  Much like the band in book, Rot In Hell, you guys rock!

“Deftly written, horrifically imaginative, and imbued with the spirit and character of the heavy metal genre that Southard then twists to his own dark ends, I’m confident in calling One For The Road an instant classic of the Horror genre that I have no doubt will stand the test of time.” — The Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviewer

https://scifiandfantasyreviewer.wordpress.com/2019/05/28/one-for-the-road-wesley-southard-review/

“You took a heavy metal band comprised of several horrible people and you put them in an R rated retelling of Alice in Wonderland…” — Sadie Hartmann

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2842984871?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

“Three words: fast paced, strong narrative voice, creative monsters…” — Becky Spratford

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45710806-one-for-the-road

“I loved this book so much.” — Somer Canon

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2824167209?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

“It is short, fast paced, and perfect for fans of Brian Keene.” — The Horror Hypothesis

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2828782064?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

YouTube Review from Ben Walker: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_leB0wEpdDM

“With One for the Road, Wesley Southard really cements his place among the contemporary horror fiction elite. In just a few pages he combines some of the genre’s best elements, namely ghastly creatures, gore, and suspense, to create a hauntingly surrealist horror experience. Going forward, Southard is definitely an author you want to keep an eye on.” — The Horror Syndicate

Book Review: ONE FOR THE ROAD By Wesley Southard

One For The Road Pre-order

onefortheroadsmallHey, everyone!  My Deadite Press novella ONE FOR THE ROAD is officially up for pre-order on Amazon.  Right now it’s only the e-book.  The paperback pre-order will be up very, very soon.

“A road trip through Hell in the spirit of Skipp & Spector’s The Scream and Grady Hendrix’s We Sold Our Souls. I loved it!” -Brian Keene, author of The Rising

“A gritty and authentic rampage through Rock ‘n’ Roll. I loved every word.” -Matt Hayward, Bram Stoker nominated author of What Do Monsters Fear? and The Faithful

Only one more show and heavy metal guitarist Spencer Hesston can finally quit Rot in Hell. No more touring, no more fighting, and no more unwanted advances from the lead singer’s girlfriend. But instead of waking up the next day in their Midwestern hometown, the band finds themselves dazed and confused in an abandoned settlement in the middle of the desert, with no idea of how they got there.

Things are done a little differently out here: the trees have perverse urges, the spiders have human fingers, and every time they step outside the town transforms into a new hellish nightmare.

In this town anything is possible, except making it out in one piece…

Deadite Press is proud to present a new novella from Wesley Southard, a work of surreal horror sure to please fans of SILENT HILL, JACOB’S LADDER, and LOST HIGHWAY.”

“Wesley Southard’s writing thrums with uninhibited energy that’s both infectious and entertaining. Discovering Wesley’s work has been a joy, and you should seek out his books too. He’s definitely a writer to watch.” -Jonathan Janz, author of The Siren and the Spector and Exorcist Falls

This Weekend!

StokerCon2019This Friday, Saturday, and Sunday I will be in Grand Rapids, Michigan for StokerCon 2019.  Though I unfortunately won’t be taking part in any panels or readings, I will be part of the mass author signing on Friday night from 5-6:30pm.  Other than that I’ll just be hanging out.  Come say hi, buy a book, and maybe I’ll have a dirty limerick waiting for you.  See you all there!

Brand New Book!!!

Death's Head Press logoHey, everyone!  So, I have some exciting news…I sold another book!  The contract has been signed, and I’m thrilled to announce that Death’s Head Press, the publisher that brought us titles such as Master of Pain from Wrath James White and Kristopher Rufty, Catfish in the Cradle by Wile E. Young, and the infamous And Hell Followed anthology, has graciously decided to publish my very first short story collection, RESISTING MADNESS.  This collection will contain thirteen short stories, five of which are new and previously unpublished, and a brand new twenty thousand word novella, of which the collection is named after.

A massive thank you goes out to Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III for picking this project up.  You guys are awesome!

At the moment there isn’t a specific release date, but they’re shooting for late 2019.

Until then, there’s a lot to look forward to with Death’s Head Press.  With the likes of Christine Morgan, Robert Essig, Chandler Morrison, Chris Miller, Mike Ennenbach, and the Sisters of Slaughter already on the docket, DHP has a bright future ahead, and I’m thrilled to be a part of it.

Stay tuned for more info as it’s released.

 

Appearance

StokerCon2019Next weekend I’ll be at StokerCon 2019 in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  I’ll be taking part in the mass author signing and ice cream social on Friday night from 5pm until 6:30pm.   After that?  No clue.  I don’t have a panel or a reading.  I guess I’ll just be hanging out and attending other readings and panels.  Come say hi, and you’re so obliged, bring me some ice cream, preferably Mint Chocolate Chip.

One For The Road ARCs

onefortheroadsmallHey, everyone!  With the release of my upcoming Deadite Press novella, ONE FOR THE ROAD, coming soon (like June 15th soon), I now have e-book ARCs available.  If you are a online reviewer (like Goodreads, personal blog, review site) and you’re wanting to check it out, please email me at wesleysouthard@gmail.com and I’ll send you a copy.

Appearance

Hey, everyone!  We’re only abut two weeks into the new year, but all sorts of amazing white rose comic conthings have started happening.  A few I can announce, like my Deadite Press novella ONE FOR THE ROAD and the future hardcover edition (more on that soon), and a few other things I can’t talk about yet (hint: a collaboration with fellow author Somer Canon).

But something I can announce is that I’ll be a guest at the first annual WHITE ROSE COMIC CON in York, Pennsylvania from March 22nd through March 24th at the York Fairgrounds.  I’ll be joined by author Somer Canon (of whom I’ll be sharing a table with), authors Kelli Owen and Robert Ford, author Stephen Kozeniewski, artist Chris Enterline, and authors Mary SanGiovanni and Brian Keene, and many others announced and waiting to be announced.  All the info you need, including where you can buy tickets, is right here.  I’ll have plenty of copies of THE BETRAYED, CLOSING COSTS, and the remaining copies of the DEATH BLOOMS chapbook Somer and I created for Scares The Care last year.  Can’t wait to see everyone!